Shadow Ministry

Latest Shadow Ministry

9 March 2007 -

The Speaker of the House received formal advice from the Prime Minister that the Governor-General had accepted his recommendation that the Parliament be prorogued at 12 noon on Monday, 15 October 2007, and the House of Representatives dissolved at 12 noon on Wednesday, 17 October 2007.

An election for the House of Representatives and half of the Senate was held on Saturday, 24 November 2007.

Leader of the Opposition Mr Kevin Rudd, MP

Deputy Leader of the Opposition Shadow Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations Shadow Minister for Social Inclusion Ms Julia Gillard, MP

Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Shadow Minister for National Development, Resources and Energy Senator Chris Evans

Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Shadow Minister for Communications and Information Technology Senator Stephen Conroy

Shadow Minister for Water and Infrastructure Manager of Opposition Business in the House Anthony Albanese, MP

Shadow Minister for Homeland Security Shadow Minister for Territories Shadow Minister for Justice and Customs Arch Bevis, MP

Shadow Assistant Treasurer Shadow Minister for Revenue and Competition Policy Chris Bowen, MP

Shadow Minister for Immigration, Integration and Citizenship Tony Burke, MP

Shadow Minister for Industry Shadow Minister for Innovation, Science and Research Senator Kim Carr

Shadow Minister for Trade and Regional Development The Hon Simon Crean, MP

Shadow Minister for Service Economy, Small Business and Independent Contractors Craig Emerson, MP

Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Urban Development and Consumer Affairs Laurie Ferguson, MP

Shadow Minister for Transport, Roads and Tourism Martin Ferguson, MP

Shadow Minister for Defence Joel Fitzgibbon, MP

Shadow Minister for Climate Change, Environment and Heritage Shadow Minister for the Arts Peter Garrett, MP

Shadow Minister for Veterans' Affairs Shadow Minister for Defence Science and Personnel Shadow Special Minister of State Alan Griffin, MP

Shadow Attorney-General Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate Senator Joseph Ludwig

Shadow Minister for Local Government Shadow Minister for Sport, Recreation and Health Promotion Senator Kate Lundy

Shadow Minister for Families and Community Services Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Reconciliation Jenny Macklin, MP

Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs Robert McClelland, MP

Shadow Minister for Ageing, Disabilities and Carers Senator Jan McLucas

Shadow Minister for Federal/State Relations Shadow Minister for International Development Assistance Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House Bob McMullan, MP

Shadow Minister for Primary Industries, Fisheries and Forestry Senator Kerry O'Brien

Shadow Minister for Human Services, Housing, Youth and Women Tanya Plibersek, MP

Shadow Minister for Health Nicola Roxon, MP

Shadow Minister for Superannuation and Intergenerational Finance Shadow Minister for Banking and Financial Services Senator the Hon. Nick Sherry

Shadow Minister for Education and Training Stephen Smith, MP

Shadow Treasurer Wayne Swan, MP

Shadow Minister for Finance Lindsay Tanner, MP

Shadow Minister for Public Administration and Accountability Shadow Minister for Corporate Governance and Responsibility Shadow Minister for Workforce Participation Senator Penny Wong

Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs Anthony Byrne, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence and Veterans' Affairs The Hon Graham Edwards, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Environment and Heritage Jennie George, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Treasury Catherine King, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Education Kirsten Livermore, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition John Murphy, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Industrial Relations Brendan O'Connor, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Industry and Innovation Bernie Ripoll, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Northern Australia and Indigenous Affairs Warren Snowdon, MP

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition (Social and Community Affairs) Senator Ursula Stephens